PRESS RELEASE: 2020 Induction Event Postponed


March 23, 2020


Brian Wheeler


2020 Induction Event Postponed
Due to Safety Concerns Amid the COVID-19 Pandemic

For everyone's health and safety, The South Dakota Rock and Roll Music Association has made the difficult decision to postpone the 2020 Hall of Fame Induction Event until April 23-24, 2021. Your ticket will be honored at next year's event.

All nine bands, nearly a dozen South Dakota Rock and Roll supporters, and the two Lifetime Achievement Award recipients that would have been inducted into the Hall of Fame this year will be inducted in 2021.


  • Indigenous
  • The Rumbles
  • ROX
  • Trees
  • Midwest Coast
  • Cokeley
  • Felix
  • Blue Things
  • Rich Show

Ballrooms/Venues: Clark Playhouse; The Barbarian
Sound/Production: Scott Nesbit
Promoter: John Steever with Downtown Promotions
Spirit of the Music: Dennis Cokeley, Kevin Newcomb, and Tony Johnson
Music Store: Haggerty’s Musicworks, Rapid City
DJs: Ben Davis and Patty Dee with the “Ben & Patty Show” (Mix 97.3)
Lifetime Achievement: Chris Gage; Gordy Zens

All tickets purchased for this year's event will be honored at the next induction event set to take place April 23-24, 2021 at the Ramkota Exhibit Hall in Sioux Falls, SD. If you'd prefer a refund, please contact us via

The South Dakota Rock and Roll Music Association was started in late 2008 to promote and recognize those who’ve made South Dakota’s live music scene what it is. The SDRRMA non-profit board volunteers their time and energy into championing this mission.